In this article, readers can discover:
- Miranda Rights are only necessary when a person is in custody and being questioned for a DUI.
- If a person charged with a DUI participates in the intoxilyzer test, they can request an extension on their license’s probationary period.
- Why it is highly recommended to hire a Mississippi attorney.
- Driver’s licenses will be automatically suspended if you refuse a DUI breath or blood test.
The Police Officer Didn’t Read My Miranda Rights. Does This Mean I Can Get My DUI Dismissed?
Miranda rights are only necessary when a person is in custody and being questioned. Arrest for a traffic violation such as DUI or driving with a suspended license does not require a Miranda warning if the person is not being questioned.
I Was Charged With A DUI And Released. Will My License Be Suspended Immediately?
It depends on whether the person charged with a DUI participated in the intoxilyzer or breathalyzer test. If so, they have a 30-day window to go to court and get a limited-use license until their case is set for trial or they enter into a plea agreement. If they refuse the test, their license will be suspended, and they cannot get a temporary license unless they enter into a non-adjudication agreement in Mississippi.
What Should I Know About My Driver’s License Following A DUI Arrest And Charge In Mississippi?
If a person charged with a DUI in Mississippi participates in the intoxilyzer test, they should request an extension of their probationary time for their license to stay in effect until their next court date, when they can enter a plea agreement or set the case for trial.
Do I Need To Hire A Mississippi DUI Attorney For My Driver’s License Immediately After A DUI Charge? Or, Do I Have Time?
Individuals charged with a DUI have around 30 days to hire an attorney.
However, Mississippi’s non-adjudication law is unique from surrounding states. Generally, a first-time defendant must complete any required terms of a non-adjudication agreement within a timeline for the opportunity to avoid the legal consequences of a DUI.
A non-adjudication law is a legal provision that allows a defendant in a criminal case to avoid a formal judgment of guilt or conviction, usually in exchange for completing certain conditions. The idea behind non-adjudication laws is to provide an opportunity for rehabilitation and prevent a criminal conviction from having long-lasting consequences.
A good lawyer can help you complete the conditions of the non-adjunction agreement successfully and within the allowed timeline.
What Happens To My Driver’s License If I Refused A DUI Breath Or Blood Test?
Driver’s licenses will be automatically suspended if you refuse a DUI breath or blood test in Mississippi. This will remain in effect until they enter into some other agreement.
Can I Get A Restricted Driver’s License After A DUI Charge In Mississippi?
If a person charged with a DUI participates in the intoxilyzer test, they can request an extension on their license’s probationary period. If they refuse, they can still obtain a restricted license by entering into a plea agreement.
Should I Have The Cheapest DUI Attorney I Can Find For My Case?
It is recommended that individuals interview multiple attorneys and balance price with service. It is important to communicate effectively with the attorney and choose the one who will best handle the case. The additional expense is worth it if an attorney is more expensive but can provide reliable answers to questions.
For more information on Facing DUI Charges In Mississippi State, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (662) 672-6663 today.